Make your own free website on Tripod.com


Home Up

Keystone Regional

Volleyball Association

NYJOV NATIONAL MEETING

To:        USA VOLLEYBALL BOYS’ COMMITTEE

From:    Bill Jones, Meeting Recording Secretary

CC:      

Date:     8/3/01 -  8:00 p.m.

Re:        Boys Committee - Minutes

Meeting Chair Person:      Chris Clauss

Name

Region

E-Mail

Jane M. Wills

Iowa

Wills@n2mail.com

Emi Vishoot

Ohio

emiv@infinet.com

Collin Powers

Old Dominion

Cpowers@cavtel.net

Chris Lanfear

New England

Clanfear@yahoo.com

Shang Hsiung

Chesapeake

Shang.hsiung@chrva.org

Chip Reiley

Keystone

Eastcoastvb@earthlink.net

Bill Jones

Keystone

William.E.Jones@verizon.net

Tim Kilian

Keystone

Juniors@krva.org

Shannon Dunn

North California

Sdunn711@hotmail.com

Maureen Nelson

Rocky Mountain

Mnelson903@aol.com

Ken Harris

Michianna

 

Shannon Rios

So California

socalva@earthlink.net

Mike Hulett

Great Lakes

Hulett213@aol.com

Steve Covert

Keystone

Yorktowne@cyberia.com

Brian Flora

Florida

BrianFlora@5pillars.com

Jesus Prieto

Puerto Rico

Prieto@coqui.net

 

Documents Relied upon by the Committee:  Chip Reiley Proposal Number 2, Boys Committee Recommendations.

NOTES:  

1.      NATIONAL TOURNAMENT SCHEDULE

Steve Covert (Keystone) has agreed to compile a National Boys’ Tournament Schedule, with a goal of coordinating the dates to avoid conflicting dates.  The deadline for the National schedule is 10/1/01.

 

2.       LIFTING RESTRICTIONS FOR AN “OPEN” CHAMPIONSHIP

Chip Reiley introduced a final draft of his proposal for amendments to the Qualifying Procedure, frozen roster rule and rule of two for both the Championship and Club Divisions.

The Committee unanimously strongly supported the draft proposal as a means of providing all Regions equal access and opportunity to best utilize their Region’s bids.

3.      SEEDING

Seeding.  Tournaments NEED to report their results for seeding purposes.  Non-reporting teams will be accepted on a last priority basis, if bids are available.  If they are accepted, they will not be pooled based on their competition experience, rather they will be pooled together.

4.       BEHAVIOR MANAGEMENT TECHNIQUES AT CHAMPIONSHIPS 

The Committee discussed various degrees of sanctions, discipline, and behavior control techniques, both in terms of defining inappropriate behavior, the degree of sanctions, and the extension of responsibility through the parents, coaches, club directors, and even as far as to the Commissioners of the offending player/team’s home RVA.

Mike Hulett introduced a list of graduating sanctions for offenses by both degree of seriousness, and recidivism, proscribing specific mandatory penalties through the individual, team, club, parents and home Region.  The Committee agrees that the “chain of command” should receive specific notice of miscreant behavior, as a condition precedent to their being held accountable for individual or team player actions.

The Committee did agree to a compromise in extending the notice of sanctions or misbehavior, but allowing for further evaluation of the Arbitrator system enacted this year.  The arbitrator system, as implemented, is considered to have been highly successful in both censuring and deterring inappropriate conduct.

5.      EVALUATING RULES PUBLISHED IN PRE-TOURNAMENT BOOK 

Chris Clauss and Mike Hulletts will be recommended as “pre-readers” for the pre-tournament boys handbook.

 On Motion of the Chairperson, approved unanimously, the meeting was adjourned at 10:10 p.m.

 

Home ] Up ] Law ] VB Index ] Misc ]